How do I reactivate my camera/microphone after I have blocked the access?

How do I reactivate my camera/microphone after I have blocked the access?

To perform the video call, you need an activated camera and an activated microphone.

If you have deactivated your camera on the way to the video consultation, you will find step-by-step instructions in the most common browsers on how to reactivate your camera (the same applies to the microphone). Pay attention to the difference between Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox.


Google Chrome


1. If you have blocked the camera, you will see a very small red cross on the camera icon in the top right corner of the URL bar. If you see this cross, please follow the steps below.



2. Click on the camera icon and select the first item "https:/..." always allow access to camera and microphone" and then click "Done".

3. Please reload the page. A device test will open and the camera will be allowed automatically.

NOTE: This will cancel the video consultation, but you can restart it. Since you have always allowed access to camera and microphone in the previous step, you will not be asked again.

4. If you are a doctor, restart the appointment with the patient. If you are a patient, wait until the doctor starts the appointment again. After the countdown you will see yourself in the upper right corner. Your conversation partner should also see and hear you now.

Mozilla Firefox


1. If you have not allowed access to the camera, you will see the crossed-out camera and microphone icon in the top left corner of the search bar. If the icons are crossed out, please follow the instructions below.



2. To grant access, please click on the small camera icon in the search bar. You will see the status "Temporarily blocked" for the microphone and the camera. Click on the small crosses next to the status to reset the permission. 

3. Reload the page and now allow access to the camera and microphone.

NOTE: This will cancel the video call, but you can restart it. Since you always allowed access to the camera and microphone in the previous step, you will not be asked again.


4. If you are a doctor, restart the appointment with the patient. If you are a patient, wait until the doctor starts the appointment again. After the countdown you will see yourself in the upper right corner. Your conversation partner should also see and hear you now.